top of page

7 Reasons to Write Your story



7 Reasons to Write Your story

Everyone has a story. Moments in which we go through difficult times or lessons God taught us. Some stories are simple, others inspiring, and yet some find no reason to write their story. In this article, you'll have 7 reasons to write your story. You can always watch the video.



#1 - To spread the Gospel

One of Jesus's final commands was to spread the good news. As Christians, our primary goal is to testify of how great God's love for us is. Read Matthew 25:18-20 NLT 18 Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Writing your story is a good way to display God's love. Show God's mercy upon your life and shine the light of his grace. The author "Max Lucado" does this in many books. (Recommended books by "Max Lucado" Shaped by Grace, Second Chances, 3:16 Numbers of hope, More to Your Story, American Looks up) These are books I've read, and they have impacted my life. (Read 5 impactful books by Max Lucado)


#2 - To encourage and inspire

I wrote "FROM SHAME TO GLORY: This is my story" at a time when I was struggling to be faithful to God, but I was bonded by alcohol addiction. The writing process was a way for me to surrender my shame and rely on the power of God's forgiveness. It encouraged me to read about God's love through his word, The Bible. And inspired me to write my story. It re-enforced my faith, by reminding me to go back and read the Bible.


#3 - To remind yourself

When you write your story, you are reminding yourself of how great, God is. Whenever I write, I'm constantly going back in time to remember the events of what I'm writing about. And in that process, I can see how God truly loves me. There were times, I thought no one cared for me, and yet God always did something to show me He did. He was always direct about it. This is a good reason to write your story. As we walk on this earth we need to be reminded of God's love.


#4 - To leave an imprint

My family knew I was struggling with Alcohol Addiction. They just didn't know how bad it was, or the place addiction took me to. My daughter was and still is to young to fully comprehend it. But I wanted to leave an imprint for her to see God's love. As I said in my previous post

God took this Alcoholic and made him an Artist/author

This emotionally broken drunk man wanted happiness, freedom and to be loved. God provided all that and much more. That's the lasting imprint I want to leave. A God who loved me.

#5 - To teach a simple lesson

I'm currently working on my second book, and in it, I give a brief story of a moment God taught me something we all take for granted. A little boy who received money as a gift from an elderly, wholeheartedly gave it all to God. I was touched by his act of giving to God at a young age. The boy is about 4 years old. Simple teaching moments like this are great to write about.


#6 - To be creative

Depending on the type of book your writing, you'll need to have an imagination. You'll need to be descriptive in your writing. Think of it like when you read your Bible. Like in my Mom' s children's book "IN THE BEGINNING: WHEN GOD CREATED THE HEAVENS AND THE EARTH". She wrote the book almost 30 years ago with the imagination of kids in mind. I was around 6 years old so I guess she was thinking about me and my brother.


#7 - To edify God

In writing my story I edify God. For me to edify God, I have to put myself on display by writing about my struggle with alcohol addiction, depression and how it leads to having suicidal thoughts. I had to open up about myself, show you how far from God I was, so I can then show you God's love. He changed all that was old and made me new. Read 2 Corinthians 5:17-21 NLT17 This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!18 And all of this is a gift from God, who brought us back to himself through Christ. And God has given us this task of reconciling people to him. 19 For God was in Christ, reconciling the world to himself, no longer counting people’s sins against them. And he gave us this wonderful message of reconciliation. 20 So we are Christ’s ambassadors; God is making his appeal through us. We speak for Christ when we plead, “Come back to God!” 21 For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin so that we could be made right with God through Christ.


CONCLUSION

If your full of testimonies of God's love. His mercy and grace, and what to share it with the world. Then write your story. Put it in a book. You are more equipped than you think you are, with these (7 reasons to write your story). Share your story with others. Impact their lives. God bless.


 

Let's make a connection. I would love it if you'd follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, or Pinterest




6 views0 comments
bottom of page