top of page

WHEN THE LORD DESIRE TO GET YOUR ATTENTION...


It amazes me how the Lord grabs our attention.

Whether it's a walk in the neighborhood or if we are in the middle of a heated argument. God will get our attention. And when He does desires to our attention, at times it's with gentleness words and at times with moments of life's lessons. either way, it’s with messages full of love.


I was in the middle of a heated argument when my daughter took her 1st steps in life. Adriana (my daughter) taking her first steps captivated my attention in the midst of everything. And it was much more important than whatever argument I was having. In an instance a moment of disagreements turned into a moment of celebration. Simply because my Attention was drawn to her 1 steps. She wanted daddy's attention. Many times, God has to do drastic things to grab our attention. Time and time again he did it in the Bible and He still does it now.

"In the midst of all the chaos, God is there and speaks."

  • He reminds you that you’re His child, no matter what happens.

  • He seeks to bring you back to the right path if you’ve strayed from it.

  • He takes you by the hand when you’re weary.

  • He longs for you and values the time you give Him!



Another way is through The bible. There are moments, where we let our emotions get the best of us, and the Holy Spirit reminds us of certain Bible verses. Recently, I found myself very frustrated with someone and let my emotions erupt. But then the Holy Spirit brings to my attention 1st Corinthians 13:4-7 (NKJV):


Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.


*More specifically verse 5 in the NEW LIVING TRANSLATION (NLT) is the part that really stuck with me. "It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged." It just replayed in my head until I understood what God was teaching me.

...LOVE KEEPS NO RECORD OF BEING WRONG...
 

Right after, I immediately began asking God for forgiveness and asked him to help me get through it with His heart. I acknowledged that my heart was weak and fragile and placed it in His hands. I've learned to do this on a daily basis. Every day I ask God for help!


 

If we study God's word, we'll notice the many ways God grabs people's attention. Below are a few ways in where God get man's attention:


  • Moses at the Burning Bush (Exodus 3:1-15) Notice how God uses Moses's curiosity to get his attention.

  • Nathan Rebukes David (2nd Samuel 12:1-15) Take note of David's reaction.

  • Through Dreams (Job 33:15) "He speaks in dreams, in visions of the night..."

  • Balaam, the Donkey, and the Angel (Numbers 22:22-40) God uses the donkey to talk to balaam.

  • Jonah runs from the Lord (Jonah chapters 1 & 2) Take note of Jonah's disobedience

  • Elijah fed by Ravens (1st Kings 17:1-7) God commanded the ravens to feed Elijah food

  • Jesus walks on water (Matthew 14:22-33) Peter walked, but then had doubt


 

“Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes." Matthew 6:34 (MSG)

 

All these true stories were written to get your attention. God uses speaks to us in the quiet still nights, as well, as through our storms. However, it is up to us to listen, take notes, and obey. We must heed the warnings God provides us. Be sensitive to His Word and His Spirit. Read the word and study it day & night. Understanding that he wants our attention for His glory.

God bless you, my friends!

 

Let's make a connection. I would love it if you'd follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, or Pinterest



7 views0 comments
bottom of page