top of page

SEEK INSPIRATION



SEEK INSPIRATION

As a designer, there are moments where I find myself stuck. And it can be as challenging as getting out of my warm cozy bed on a cold winter morning. Today, I'll share with a few of the things I do when I seek inspiration.


INSPIRATION - Definition

  • The process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

  • a sudden brilliant, creative, or timely idea.


#1 Exploration

There are many ways to explore. You can explore Pinterest for some inspiration, take a walk around your neighborhood, or take a long walk on the beach. Whenever I'm stuck, one of the 1st things I do is explore. I explore my surroundings, my neighborhood and my wonderful city, NY. And I always have my camera with me. You never know what you might find or who you might run into. Once I went on an exploration of NYC and bump into "James Murr the ferret" from impractical jokes. And...

that wasn't the highlight of my day.

Though my feet were killing me the next day. I had tons of photos and had a great time exploring. Plus I was no longer stuck. So sometimes being stuck is a good thing. It allows you to reset.

You can see some of my explorations in my Photography section.

#2 Switch

No, not the game console. lol. Working on multiple projects at the same time can be challenging, but also great. It's allowed me to stop one and change up my style.


#3 Read

Whether you are an artist like myself or an author. Reading, studying and learning from other people’s work has alway helped out of a rut. I've always gained value, new insights and fresh ideas from reading.


#4 Write a letter

This works with #2 but it's a bit more specific. My daughter is 8 and I recently learned how much she loves receiving mail. So I started writing her letters or more like design letters for her. Nothing long or boring, but short, simple and full of her favorites. And this helps me with the creative process.




#5 Take in Nature

It’s a very refreshing and stimulating experience. Enjoy the scenery of colors come together. Carry a journal, take notes. Capture the beauty around you and make notes of all the details. It will help you tap into that creative side of yours. You'll have that moment of sudden brilliance. Beside why else did God create the beautiful sceneries?


#6 Make a Connection

Interact with people on a daily basis. Connect with people smarter than you, who inspire and motivate you. Find a buddy or join a group. One of my favorite places to meet new people is at the local library. You'll be surprised at what you have in common. One of my librarians used to be an alcoholic like me and like me. Once she had that encounter with Jesus, she was set free. Something we both have in common and we both have one person to thank.


The local cafe is a good place to make a connection. Again you'd be surprised at what a cup of coffee can do. I've actually gained some clients this way. And in most cases, I just wanted Coffee but left with a connection.


What're some of the ways you seek inspiration?

 

Let's make a connection. I would love it if you'd follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, or Pinterest






13 views0 comments
bottom of page