top of page

LEARNING TO TRUST GOD MORE...


Trust has always been one of those things that really isn't easy for me. There are some people who trust people right away. They’re welcoming, warm, kindhearted and willing to open up to strangers, and I am thankful for these friends of mine. But I’m not one of those people.


I am cautious with you until you give me a reason to trust you. My default mode is asking "who is it?" before I open the door. However, I’m beginning to understand that’s not a healthy way to live. Isolation and paranoia aren’t good breeding grounds for love, empathy, and compassion. Thankfully God’s the master at restoring broken hearts.


Now, before we go any further, let me just say this. If you’ve been hurt in the past and you've placed your trust in someone who let you down. I’m sorry and I understand how you feel. I encourage you to take that hurt, that, pain, that let down and give it over to God. Allow the perfect heart of Jesus to fuse with yours and begin to heal while bringing nourishment to that place of pain. Let Him in, let Him heal, and let Him love you. Even if that means taking one baby steps.

 
 

Here are a few steps for Learning To Trust God More

Today, I want to focus mainly on trusting God. In my life, I’ve found that when I don’t trust others, it stems from holding on to the past. I’m not an expert at this. Even now as a Christian I say this: I’m not the most trusting person in the world, however, I’m learning to trust a little more day by day.


1- Examining My Heart Regularly

When was the last time you looked at your heart through the eyes of Jesus?

I’m not a very emotional person, but I regularly check myself. Making sure I hold no record of wrongs. When you take time to sit with the lord and examine your heart, you can begin to see patterns. It becomes easier to identify and most importantly, change behavior when we make a habit of these regular check-ups.


If it’s been a while since you’ve done this, I encourage you to do so quickly.


2- One day at a time

Have you ever tried to lose weight before? You eat green things for three days and set time for the gym, but then you are disappointed when you don’t see results right away. Learning to trust is a lot like getting in shape: it’s not going to happen overnight. Take it one day at a time. Developing a trust muscle takes diligent, intentional, and focused effort over time. It’s okay if you don’t trust easily today, but is it a little easier than it was yesterday? Do you find yourself trusting God more today than you did a month ago? A year ago? If so, that’s something worth celebrating and giving Him all Glory.


Enjoy this video Testimony below


3- Look at Past Behavior

It’s been said over and over again that the best way to predict someone’s future actions is to see how they’ve behaved in the past. But what happens when we apply this same principle to God? When I’m having trouble trusting God, I always have to return to who He is and how He’s has demonstrated His love. When I read the Bible, I see how God was and still is faithful, merciful, and loving to us. Even to those who disobeyed Him.


  • Are you struggling to trust God with your finances? Find someone who’s struggled financially.

  • Are you struggling to trust God with your future? Grab a coffee with someone twice your age.


On the flip side, Don't hesitate to share your story, if you know someone who’s having a hard time trusting God in a situation you’ve walked through. Share your story with them and see how your faith grows during the course of that conversation. You'll realize, yet again, how faithful God truly is.


4- Trust God Today

After writing this post, I am reminded of the day I truly began to trust God. It was a Sunday afternoon, and I was thirsty for a drink. As I mentioned in the video above, I used to be an alcoholic. But my life changed that Sunday afternoon, when God demonstrated His love for me, in a very unique way. No longer was I thirsty! I made the decision to trust Him at that very moment. I couldn't wait until the following day. God reached me then and there, at that moment and I had to make a decision right away. And I don't regret it. He's been faithful to me every step of the way. And I know He'll be just as faithful in your life.


He took my broken heart full of pain and made it joyful. I encourage you to give HIM your heart, for at a time of global pandemic (Coronavirus), we all need JOY!!!

 

Let's make a connection. I would love it if you'd follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, or Pinterest


16 views0 comments
bottom of page