top of page

CREATIVE HABITS TO EXPLORE

Updated: Apr 9, 2020


Working with creatives, I’ve found that 3 common issues. 1- We're always pressed for time and many wish they had more time for creative activities. 2- We easily get caught up in the day-to-day hustle and forget, why we started our business in the first place. Which is usually because we love to create. 3- I often daydreamed about finding time for creative hobbies unrelated to their business. And now's a good time as any.

 
 

I’ve found that one of the best ways to be more creative, is to build habits. Start by picking your most favorite creative pursuits and do them regularly. When I'm consistently practicing being creative, I tend to explode with new ideas. I find more inspiration for my work and feel more fulfilled.


I know it’s easier said than done, but we're in the middle of a pandemic. While we're sitting at home, we have to realize that time is on our side. You can easily make changes and focus on what makes you excited like you used to feel when you were five and you started sketching ideas. Remember those days? I do. That’s why I make it a habit to be creative in everything I pursue.

 

WANT SOME IDEAS OF CREATIVE HABITS YOU CAN BUILD DURING THIS (CORONA VIRUS) PANDEMIC? I THOUGHT THIS LIST OF 42 IDEAS MIGHT HELP!

 

1. USE YOUR DAILY PLANNER TO ART JOURNAL a little bit each day.

2. Follow THIS VIDEO, to Easily Convert Sketch to digital a format.

3. Take one picture every day during this Pandemic. It could be a seed you just planted. And at the end of this pandemic, compile them in a book for a great memory.

5. Try a new recipe every day. {Send me some photos or just save me a plate}

6. Publish a blog post every other day. And send me the link.

7. Complete one DIY home project {like painting your bathroom, re-arranging the furniture in your living room, or fixing a bookshelf}

8. Go into a room and sketch your surroundings.

9. Design NEW business cards.

10. Write in a journal for ten minutes in the morning while sipping tea or coffee.

11. Work on a piece of clothing each evening. My mom likes to sow!

12. If you keep a food journal, sketch the food each day.

13. Complete one knitted mask for someone. My mom did one for me!

14. Write one page of a novel every day during this pandemic, and you'll be closer to publishing a book.

15. Find a good Bible quote each day and keep a list of them. In the end, you’ll have a list of amazing quotes to pull from. {Share them on Facebook or Instagram?}

16. While watching tv in the evening, knit or crochet. My mom likes this one!

17. Invent a new DIY project and publish step-by-step directions on your blog.

18. Become a YouTuber. Film a video the same day each week.

19. Write a short poem in bed when you first wake up. And you'll have a poetry book.

20. Switch out the decorations in your living room.

21. Create a series of mini paintings {like the size of a playing card} every day.

22. Write a note or send a card to someone every Friday. It’ll brighten up their Mondays. Or if you're like me, design one in Illustrator or Photoshop.

23. Carefully select your outfits each and every day, even if you're just going to the living room.

24. Create a weekly collage.

25. Listen to my music playlist. Be inspired!

26. Learn a new art skill.

27. Read one new book each week. If you picked one subject, you’d be an expert by the end of the year. I've been reading up on marriage! (Don't ask lol).

28. Learn a new instrument. Or a new note!

29. Listen to motivational teachings on a daily basis.

30. Practice the piano each day for thirty minutes.

31. Sew something new every week.

32. Collect stuff on your daily walks. if you can!

33. MAKE A BATCH of your own Hand sanitizer. Don’t forget to add a fun label.

34. Use washi tape in a new way every day. {I love BLACK AND WHITE POLKA DOT.}

35. Build a Birdhouse for your garden.

36. Take a moment daily and give God praise.

37. Make a sock monkey each week.

38. Try to recreate a famous artist’s piece of work every week, just to learn, not to copycat.

39. Take a picture of your pet every day and combine them all into a book.

40. Practice calligraphy every day.

41. Create HANDMADE CARDS. And mail them.

42. Create your own creative habit!

 

WHAT ARE YOUR CREATIVE HABITS? ARE YOU TRYING SOMETHING NEW DURING THIS PANDEMIC? FROM THE LIST ABOVE DID ANYTHING SPARK YOUR INTEREST? ANY CREATIVE HABIT THAT YOU’VE THOUGHT ABOUT BUT HAVEN’T PUT INTO PRACTICE YET? PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SHARE!

 

Let's make a connection. I would love it if you'd follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, or Pinterest



30 views0 comments
bottom of page