top of page

A 6 hour walk back home


A 6 hour walk back home

Thursday, August 14, 2003, a day I'll never forget. A day most New Yorkers wont forget.

I was on the train, heading to Manhattan. I had a school meeting to attend and wanted to go to church later on that night. So I decided dress up and wear so dress shoes, I didn't think I'd be walking much, so I left my sneakers behind.


  • Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified. (1 st Corinthians 9:24-27 NKJV)

"The long 6 hour journey from Manhattan to Brooklyn"

I love going for long walks. I enjoy them as often as I can. I take long walks in my neighborhood, Park, boardwalk and on the beach. Where ever the journey takes me I am at peace with God. engaged in a conversation with Him. And during these intimate moments I observe God's handy work. Fascinated by his craftsmanship, I give him all the Glory and the praise. However, August 14, 2003, I did not enjoy the long walk. If I wanted to get back home, I needed to take the long journey from Manhattan to Brooklyn.


"Beginning just after 4:10 p.m. There was a widespread power outage throughout parts of the Northeastern and Midwestern United States, and the Canadian province of Ontario"


I was at 14th street union square. I got to the building for my meeting and just got word of the blackout. Technology wasn't as advance as it is now. I wasn't able to make any calls. I really want you to picture this. Cars stuck in the middle of the road, traffic lights blinking, crowds of people walking with confused looks on their faces. Bus stop over crowded. It was sunny and hot. 91 degrees to be exact.

"An angel sent from above"

With no means of transportation I walked home. There was no way I was going to squeeze on to a bus. Tired, drain with foot pain I managed to make it to Prospect park, Brooklyn. But it was dark and this neighborhood wasn't safe. My pastor (at the time) and good friend Anibal Taymes, lived near by. I called him and without hesitation gave me a lift home. It was as if he was an angel sent from above. He arrive in his small little car. I believe it was a Toyota corolla, but it felt like a Bentley. Yes my feet were in that much pain. I endured the pain for as long as I could.

"I had been walking for 6 hours"

When I got home I thanked him and just before he drove off he said "Richie, get some rest".

And I sure did. As I reflect on that long walk, I asked myself is not the life of a Christian. Where we start in a place of chaos, lost and confused, and realize we have a home to return to. A place where we can rest.

  • "For this world is not our permanent home; we are looking forward to a home yet to come." (Hebrews 13:14 NLT)

What was your longest walk like? Tell me, I want to read about it.

 

Let's make a connection. I would love it if you'd follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, or Pinterest



12 views0 comments
bottom of page